Sports Programs


Other Team Schedules & Rosters

Wrestling in the ILH started on a club basis in 1962. Teams included Farrington, Kamehameha, ‘Iolani, Kaimuki, St. Louis and Punahou.

Wrestling powers in the state, at that time, were in the rural schools (Waianae, Kahuku, Radford and Leilehua). These rural teams had been wrestling for at least five years before Punahou started to compete with them. Punahous program began in 1962 with ninety student-athletes turning out for the team.

By 1965 the first official league championship was established with both team and individual champions designated. In 1966 the first State Championships in Wrestling were held. After winning the ILH that year, Punahou placed third in the state. In the 1966 State Tournament, Punahou crowned its first individual State Champion, and in 1967 won its first state championship.
©2022 Punahou School. All Rights Reserved