Athletics

Team Tryouts

The following forms must be completed on Magnus before participating in tryouts and practices:

  • Athletic Participation Form and Important Health and Contact Information
  • Under Conditional Questions, Parents of grades 7 – 12 must answer “Yes” to: Does your student intend on participating in Athletics during the 2022 – 2023 School Year
  • 2022 – 2023 Health Appraisal Form (download from Magnus/upload to Magnus after physical is completed by physician)
  • Covid Vaccination status must be reported to Punahou School, using the Covid-19 Vaccination Tracking App.

List of 8 items.

  • Basketball

    Boys Intermediate
    Date: Oct. 17
    Time: 3:30 p.m.
    Location: Middle Courts

    Boys JV

    Date: Oct. 24
    Time: 5:30 p.m.
    Location: Hemmeter Gym

    Boys Varsity 1 & 2
    Date: Nov. 7
    Time: 5:30 p.m.
    Location: Hemmeter Gym



    Girls Intermediate

    Date: Oct. 10
    Time: 3:30 p.m.
    Location: Hemmeter Gym

    Girls JV

    Date: Oct. 17
    Time: 5:30 p.m.
    Location: Track

    Girls Varsity 1 & 2
    Date: Oct. 31
    Time: 3:45 p.m.
    Location: Hemmeter Gym

    Coach: Darren Matsuda (dsmatsuda@punahou.edu)

    Basketball Boys Coach - Darren Matsuda (dsmatsuda@punahou.edu)
     
    Basketball Girls Coach - Gary Pacarro (gpacarro@punahou.edu
  • Canoe Paddling

    Boys Varsity/JV
    Date: Nov. 1
    Time: 3:45 p.m.
    Location: Track (Ewa side)

    Preseason Meeting
    Date: Oct. 17
    Time: 4 p.m. 
    Location: Thurston Classroom

    Coach: Rocky Higgins (rhiggins@punahou.edu)



    Girls Varsity/JV

    Date: Nov. 1
    Time: 3:45 p.m.
    Location: Magic Island*

    Preseason Meeting
    Date: Oct. 13
    Time: 4 p.m.
    Location: Thurston Classroom

    *
    A bus will be provided for tryouts, departs from Palm Dr. at 3:45 p.m. 

    Coach: Becky Fardal (rfardal@punahou.edu)
  • Diving

    Boys/Girls Intermediate
    Date: Nov. 1
    Time: 3:15 p.m.
    Location: Pool

    Boys/Girls JV
    Date: Nov. 1
    Time: 4:30 p.m.
    Location: Pool

    Boys/Girls Varsity
    Date: Nov. 2
    Time: 4 p.m.
    Location: Pool

    Coach: Jeff Hallstrom (jhallstrom@punahou.edu)
  • Precision Riflery

    Boys/Girls JV/Varsity
    Date: TBD
    Time: 3:45 p.m.
    Location: Rifle Range (Castle Hall Basement)

    Coach: Glenn Taga(gtaga@punahou.edu)
  • Soccer

    Boys Intermediate
    Date: Oct. 17
    Time: 3:30 p.m.
    Location: Chamberlain Field

    Boys JV

    Date: Oct. 24
    Time: 4 p.m.
    Location: Chamberlain Field

    Boys Varsity
    Date: Nov. 7
    Time: 4 p.m.
    Location: Chamberlain Field

    Coach: David Trifonovitch (dtrifonovitch@punahou.edu)



    Girls Intermediate

    Date: Oct. 17
    Time: 3:30 p.m.
    Location: Chamberlain Field

    Girls JV

    Date: Oct. 24
    Time: 4 p.m.
    Location: Chamberlain Field

    Girls Varsity
    Date: Oct. 31
    Time: 4 p.m.
    Location: Chamberlain Field

    Coach: Shelley Izuno (sizuno@punahou.edu)
  • Swimming

    Boys/Girls Intermediate
    Date: Nov. 1
    Time: 3:15 p.m.
    Location: Pool

    Boys/Girls JV
    Date: Nov. 7
    Time: 4:15 p.m.
    Location: Pool

    Boys/Girls Varsity
    Date: Nov. 1
    Time: 4:15 p.m.
    Location: Pool

    Intermediate Coach: Eric Nagoshi (etnagoshi@punahou.edu)
    JV/Varsity Coach: Jeff Meister (jmeister@punahou.edu)
  • Tennis

    Boys/Girls Intermediate
    Date: Oct. 24
    Time: 4:15 p.m.
    Location: Tennis Courts

    For more information, contact the Tennis Office at 808.944.5835
  • Wrestling

    Boys/Girls Intermediate
    Date: Oct. 11
    Time: 3:30 p.m.
    Location: Track (Diamond Head side)

    Boys/Girls JV/Varisty
    Date: Nov. 7
    Time: 4 p.m.
    Location: Thurston Wrestling Room

    Coach: Yoshi Honda (rhonda@punahou.edu)