Athletics

Team Tryouts

The following forms must be completed on Magnus before participating in tryouts and practices:

  • Athletic Participation Form and Important Health and Contact Information
  • Under Conditional Questions, Parents of grades 7 – 12 must answer “Yes” to: Does your student intend on participating in Athletics during the 2022 – 2023 School Year
  • 2022 – 2023 Health Appraisal Form (download from Magnus/upload to Magnus after physical is completed by physician)
  • Covid Vaccination status must be reported to Punahou School, using the Covid-19 Vaccination Tracking App.

List of 9 items.

  • Air Riflery

    Boys JV/Varsity
    Date: August 1
    Time: 3:45 p.m.
    Location: Range (basement of Castle Hall)

    Coach: Glenn Taga (gtaga@punahou.edu)
    Athletes new to the program: please bring a notebook and a pen.
  • Bowling

    Boys/Girls JV/Varsity
    Date: August 3, 4 and 5
    Time: TBA
    Location: Leeward Bowl

    Coach: Kenny Chew (kchew@punahou.edu)
  • Cheerleading

    Boys/Girls Intermediate
    Date: May 11
    Time: 4 p.m.
    Location: Thurston Gym

    Boys/Girls JV/Varsity

    Date: May 12
    Time: 4 p.m.
    Location: Thurston Gym

    Coach: Taylor Pang (tpang@punahou.edu)

    Tryouts already held for current Students.
    For New Students interested, please contact Coach Taylor Pang at tpang@punahou.edu by August 10, 2022.
  • Cross Country

    Boys/Girls JV/Varsity
    Date: August 3
    Time: 4:30 p.m
    Location: Lily Pond
    Coach: Duncan Macdonald (dmacdonald@punahou.edu)

    *Boys/Girls Intermediate
    Open to all 7th and 8th graders
    Date: August 18
    Time: 3:10 p.m.
    Location: Case Middle Higgins Hall, Team 7Z, 1st flr.
    Coach: Tedd Landgraf (tlandgraf@punahou.edu)

    *This is a meeting. No tryouts, open to all 7th and 8th graders.. First practice starts on August 22.
  • Football

    Boys/Girls Varsity
    Date: July 18
    Time: 4 p.m.
    Location: Alexander Field

    Coach: Nate Kia (nkia@punahou.edu)

    Boys/Girls Intermediate

    Date: July 25
    Time: 4 p.m.
    Location: Chamberlain Field

    Coach: Mark Hibbs (mhibbs@punahou.edu)

    Shorts, T-Shirt and Cleats. Bring own water bottle.
  • Kayaking

    Boys/Girls JV/Varsity
    Date: August 20
    Boys Time: 10 a.m.
    Girls Time: 12 p.m.
    Location: Maunalua Bay by Hui Nalu Halau

    Coach: Jim McKay (jmckay@punahou.edu)
    Coach: Sarah McKay (smckay@punahou.edu)

    8/18 (New Athletes) – Mandatory Swim Test 3:30 p.m. at the pool
    8/20 (All) – Tryouts at Maunalua Bay by Hui Nalu Halau.
  • Tennis

    Boys/Girls JV
    Date: August 15
    Girls Time: 8 a.m.
    Boys Time: 1 p.m.
    Location: Tennis Courts

    Coach: Ikaika Jobe (vjobe@punahou.edu)
  • Volleyball

    Girls Varsity 1/1-AA
    Date: August 1
    Time: 3:30 p.m.
    Location: Hemmeter Gym

    Girls JV
    Date: August 4
    Time: 4 p.m.
    Location: Hemmeter Gym

    Girls Intermediate

    Date: August 6
    Time: 1:30 p.m.
    Location: Hemmeter Gym

    Coach: Tita Ahuna (rahuna@punahou.edu)

    Important: Please arrive 30 minutes prior to your scheduled tryout time for registration on Ewa side of Hemmeter Gym.
  • Waterpolo

    Boys Intermediate
    Date: August 8
    Time: 2:45 p.m.
    Location: Pool

    Boys Varsity 1 & 2

    Date: August 8
    Time: 5 p.m.
    Location: Pool

    Coach: Shawn Williamson (swilliamson@punahou.edu)