Charles S. Judd, Jr. ’38 Humanitarian Award

The Charles S. Judd, Jr. ’38 Humanitarian Award, also known as the Hawaiʻi Humanitarian Award, is given to Punahou alumni who have made outstanding contributions to society in Hawaiʻi, which are deserving of recognition by Punahou. It is intended to be an occasional award and is not intended to be as substitute for or compete with the “O” in Life.


  • Nominee must have made outstanding contributions in the fields of public service, humanitarian or charitable efforts, arts, letters or sciences, which have gained the awardee significant recognition in Hawaiʻi.
  • Nominee must be living.
  • Nominee should have attended Punahou for at least three years and preferably have graduated from Punahou.
  • Nominee may not be a current PAA officer or director.
  • Nominee should be someone “of whom Punahou can be proud.”


Dr. Charles Sheldon Judd, Jr. ’38 came from and added to a family tradition of important public service. Dr. Judd descended from early 19th Century medical missionary Gerrit P. Judd, he spent three years in Western Samoa in the late 1960s working long hours at low pay as that young nation's only surgeon. Later he founded a free medical clinic in Kalihi that subsequently became a permanent facility.

A scholar, as well as a surgeon, Dr. Judd loved history and Hawaiiana. He taught medical history at the University of Hawai`i, lectured to groups and took part in a variety of explorations, digs and hikes around the islands.

He was often honored for his professional and community activities over the years and received awards such as Physician of the Year and the Thomas Jefferson Award for public service.

Honolulu-born “Charlie” Judd (as he was known), was always most impressive, and remains most memorable, as a friendly and caring doctor who gave much in time and effort to those less able to pay. A modest man, his quiet but significant achievements reflected a concern for Hawai`i and its people and seemed to personify the term kama`āina.


Date AwardedAwardee
John ’96 and Julianna Rapu ’97 Leong
James Case ’37 and
Mark Noguchi ’93
Bill Haning ’67
Gene Doo ’57
2019Trisha Kajimura ’89
2018David Pratt ’53
2017Kelvin H. Taketa ’72
2016Loretta Luke ’64 Yajima
2016Kahi Pacarro ’97
2016Lynne Johnson ’62
2015Charman J. Akina ’50
2014Jackie E. Young ’52
2014Linda L. Wong ’78
2013Jean E. Kelley ’54 Rolles
2012Hardy Spoehr ’62
2012Wilmer C. Morris ’41
2011Robyn Yim ’81 Pang
2010Keith Amemiya ’83
2007Alice Flanders ’52 Guild
2006Mary Moragne ’54 Cooke
2004William Paty ’38
2003Robert Midkiff ’38
©2022 Punahou School. All Rights Reserved