Annual Report 2017 – 2018

This has been an exciting year for Punahou School. The Board of Trustees announced that Dr. Mike Latham ’86 will become Punahou’s seventeenth president, following Jim Scott’s ’70 retirement in June 2019. We have also made significant progress toward the institutional priorities that will define a Punahou education for years to come. Thanks to you – our most generous supporters – the Ku‘u Punahou Campaign has raised $153.8 million to date to implement these priorities, which in many ways are the culmination of Jim’s tenure and the expression of the values that shaped his leadership.

President and the Board of Trustees

Front row, from left: Yim, Cole, Lau, Berger, Crabb, Wo. Back row: Luke, Fukunaga, Pietsch, Kosasa, Scott, Abbott, Higgins, Carey, MacNaughton.

These goals are also key to Punahou’s continued growth, as framed by the School’s Trustees, its principals and its future president. They are inspired by the same challenges and opportunities that K – 12 education faces across the world, and that position Punahou to be a thought leader and partner to other educators: designing innovative learning environments that facilitate essential 21st-century skills; providing the need-based financial aid that will ensure a diverse school community; supporting our faculty as thoughtful researchers and practitioners; and strengthening programs that enable Punahou to be a private school with a broader public purpose.

We have one year remaining to complete the Ku‘u Punahou Campaign, which includes the second phase of the Sidney and Minnie Kosasa Community for Grades 2 – 5 and the Junior School Learning Commons. You are one of nearly 12,000 donors who have participated in the campaign so far. We look forward to growing this community of support over the next year to reach our $175 million goal and lay an essential foundation for the future of teaching and learning at Punahou.

As we prepare for a new chapter in the School’s history, we are more grateful than ever for your partnership in the timeless work of educating children to fulfill their promise to themselves, each other and the world.

James K. Scott ’70
President, Punahou School

Ethan D.B. Abbott ’72
Chair, Board of Trustees 2017 – 2018

About This Report

Giving to Punahou 2017 – 2018 recognizes the individuals and organizations that have made a charitable gift to Punahou during the fiscal year, July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2018.

Every person, family, foundation and corporation listed in this report and on our website has helped the School to realize its mission, and we are deeply grateful for your generosity. Donors are listed in this publication by the School’s giving clubs. You will also find lists of current parent donors, and faculty and staff. Other donor lists, including lists by alumni class, are available in an extended, searchable edition of Giving to Punahou online at

We welcome questions or comments regarding the information in this report and strive to accurately publish our donor lists. If you feel an error has been made, please contact Punahou’s Office of Institutional Advancement.

Office of Institutional Advancement

The Punahou School Office of Institutional Advancement builds awareness and support for the School’s mission. Advancement is responsible for a range of activities that provide the framework of lasting relationships with Punahou’s diverse constituencies, including alumni, parents, parents of alumni, community members, donors and friends. One of Advancement’s highest ongoing priorities is the successful implementation of the Ku‘u Punahou campaign.

Advancement is comprised of Alumni Relations, Communications, Development and Operations working together for Punahou. The Development team leads efforts to encourage and secure private financial support from alumni, parents, friends, corporations and foundations.

See more about the giving team

New to the Board of Trustees

Greg Dickhens ’87
Greg Dickhens, principal and chief investment officer at Trinity Investments, LLC, joined the Board in October 2017. He is an active member of the Class of 1987, participating in reunion planning and class giving, as well as working to support other Punahou priorities. Dickhens’ professional strength and background are in the areas of hotel finance and development. With 26 years of hospitality experience, he brings to Punahou a highly diverse and complementary skillset, a wealth of longstanding relationships and a keen understanding of the global marketplace.

Board of Trustees 2017 – 2018

Ethan D.B. Abbott ’72 
Deborah Berger ’82
W. David P. Carey III
Steve Case ’76
Maggie Cole
Wendy B. Crabb
Greg Dickhens ’87
Mark H. Fukunaga ’74
Ron Higgins ’75
Tom Kosasa ’63
Constance Hee ’70 Lau 
Warren K.K. Luke ’62
Duncan MacNaughton ’62
Pierre Omidyar ’84
Michael A. Pietsch ’64
Jeffrey N. Watanabe
Kitty Sullivan ’75 Wo
Gregory Yim ’80