National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists Named

Punahou Communications Staff

September 13, 2017

Twenty Punahou seniors were named 2018 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists in recognition of their exceptional academic ability and potential for collegiate success. The students earned high-ranking qualifying test scores that placed them among the top one percent of high school seniors nationwide.


“Congratulations. We’re proud of you,” Punahou President Jim Scott ’70 said to the group of students gathered in Sullivan Boardroom for the announcement. “Although scores do not define you, it is a great achievement. Thank you for supporting the learning of others,” added Academy Principal Emily McCarren.

Semifinalists may apply to become a finalist in the program by undergoing a rigorous application process that includes an endorsement from a high-school official, a written essay and further achievement on standardized tests. The students must also submit a history of their academic records, participation in community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment and/or awards received.

Punahou’s 2018 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists include: Justin Abe, Nicholas Amador, Geethanjali Annamalai, Bradley Aoki, Gracyn Buenconsejo, Nithya Chekuri, Michael Dempsey, Jae Yun Ham, Heather Hsia, Kade Imanaka, Maile Jim, Anna Kimata, Austin Lau, Kelly Ma, Mitsuki Ota, Rachel Pai, Dong-Woo Seo, Rinka Shimizu, Jake Will and Gradon Wong.


No comments posted.

Post a Comment