Announcing the 2017 National Merit Scholars Semifinalists

Punahou Communications Staff

September 14, 2016

“Over 40 percent of Hawai‘i’s National Merit Scholar Semifinalists are sitting in this room,” Punahou President Jim Scott ’70 said to the group of students gathered in Sullivan Boardroom. “I don’t think another school in America can say that.”


The Punahou seniors were named 2017 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists in recognition of their exceptional academic ability and potential for collegiate success. The students earned high-ranking qualifying test scores that placed them among the top one percent of high school seniors nationwide.

Semifinalists hold the highest-ranking scores in their state for the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Out of the more than 1.5 million juniors who took the test last year, 16,000 were named semifinalists, qualifying them to apply for National Merit Scholarship awards, which are announced next spring.

“We’re proud of you,” said Scott. “What you do to raise the academic achievement in your class is important,” echoed Academy Principal Emily McCarren.

Punahou's 2017 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists include: Alana Blume, Jasmine Blust, Madeleine Chai, Emma Chun, Kristyn Hamasaki, Albert Jiang, Victoria Kong, Anson Lee, Daniel Lee, Joseph Li, Christopher Lovejoy, Mazie Miao, Marissa Anne Miller, Dominie Miyasato, Jesse Moonier, Ian Murakami, Jonathan Nakagawa, Carter Nakamoto, Allison Portis, Brandon Quach, Ryan Rossio, Caitlin Steele, Dasson Tan, Andrew Winnicki, Isabel Wong, David Zane and Kevin Zheng.


No comments posted.

Post a Comment